Alan Bradley | Flavia de Luce Author

From: Cobourg, Ontario

Alan Bradley is the New York Times bestselling author of many short stories, children’s stories, newspaper columns. His the Flavia de Luce mystery series has become one of Canada’s most successful cultural exports.

Bradley worked in Cobourg as a radio and television engineer, moved to Toronto, then to Saskatoon. There he worked at the University of Saskatchewan as Director of Television Engineering for 25 years. Also he joined several writing groups and began spending time with local writers.

He took early retirement at age 55 and decided to write full-time.

He has published many children’s stories as well as lifestyle and arts columns in Canadian newspapers.

Bradley’s success as a writer came later in life. The first book in the Flavia series, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, was published in 2009.

Bradley’s The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie received:

  • the Crime Writers’ Association Debut Dagger Award
  • the Dilys Winn Award
  • the Arthur Ellis Award
  • the Agatha Award
  • the Macavity Award
  • the Barry Award

All of the Flavia de Luce books have been New York Times bestsellers. They was published in 39 countries and 36 languages. The series has been extended to ten books.

Alan Bradley, 2010. By Penguin Random House Canada



The Town of Cobourg is a lakeside community located on the north shore of Lake Ontario.

Welcome to Cobourg by Jacqueline Pennington


Read and watch more about Cobourg in the posts


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This