As the oldest church building still in active use in the Diocese of Toronto, St. Mark’s has a long and fascinating history. The wooden frame church was built between 1822 and 1824 and dedicated to St John the Evangelist in 1828.
In 1959, H.M. Queen Elizabeth II and H.R.H Prince Philip were guests at the home of first Canadian-born Governor-General Vincent Massey, a long-time parishioner of St Mark’s. They joined the congregation for Morning Prayer at St Mark’s on July 26. Massey was buried here in 1967.