The Collingwood Grain Terminals is an iconic landmark in the community. It can be seen for miles around Collingwood and symbolizes the twin engines of commerce in the early 1900s, agriculture and shipping.
It was constructed in 1929 by Collingwood Terminals Limited and features 52-grain silos. The two million bushel grain elevator has bins 100 feet high and 22 feet in diameter. The steamer MUNISING arrived in September 1929 with 228,000 bushels of American grain.
Grain service stopped in 1993. The building was declared surplus and there was a proposal by two local businessmen to grow mushrooms in the facility.