The area around St. Jacobs boasts eleven trails totalling 80 kilometres. Of those trails, the Millrace Trail in St. Jacobs holds a unique historical position.
In 1850, the Snyder Flour Mill was built in St. Jacobs—the first in the area. To power it, a millrace (a channel of fast-moving water) was created. The millrace diverts water from the Conestogo River past the mill, where it provides the necessary energy for production before joining again with the Conestogo. Millrace Trail, otherwise known as “Lovers Lane,” begins at the historic mill, providing an interesting glimpse into the past of the region, and then the trail follows the banks of the millrace, providing peaceful and picturesque views of nature and wildlife.