Located on the top of a panoramic hill in downtown Prince George. The beautifully landscaped park provides 360-degree views of the city and the Fraser River. It’s one of the only high points of land in the bowl area.
Visitors can expect to see 5 to 20 varieties of each plant type in bloom throughout the season.
Connaught hill is named after Prince Arthur, the Duke of Connaught and Strathearn, who served as Canada’s 10th governor-general.
Olympic ski jump. Connaught hill once had a 65 ft tall, Olympic quality ski jump, “the first illuminated ski jump in North America, and the second in the world. The ski jump has a 100 ft surface. The jump hosted regular competitions until it collapsed under strong winds in 1938.
Photo: The Exploration Place
Once an island. Connaught was an island surrounded by the waters of the Fraser River. The river’s main channel looped around the west side of the Connaught hill then flowed through Downtown Prince George’s present day.